A Short Word About New Novel…& Snow

Forgive me, but I just couldn’t help posting a photo of this beautiful white stuff – something of a rarity in England – which has blanketed much of the country in the space of just a few hours. This is currently the view from my study as I look to the foot of the garden.

The wonderful snowy scene outside my window

My feelings toward snow have somewhat changed over the years. When I was a boy, just the sight of this stuff fuelled a fire of excitement and joy as my palms and nose pressed against the window. Building fat snowmen would follow, as would launching a number of icy missiles into the faces of kin and friends – though I probably received more than I landed!

But things change, don’t they? You grow older, and suddenly instead of roaming around on your own two feet, you’re roaming around on four wheels. And so is everyone else. (Cue sliding, skidding, bouncing off curbs, and anything else the snow welcomes you to collide with on the road)

However, though the snow may play foe to my commutes, on days like this I have to admit there’s something truly wondrous about its white glow, and the way it can deface the identity of the world outside in no time at all.

In short, in makes for a fantastic view as I write. Inspiring? I would have to say yes. It certainly offers my eyes a break from the sights they are used to.

And while I’m on the subject of writing, though I can’t give anything away in terms of plot and other details, I can confirm a few things about my new novel for those who are still emailing in.

It is still set in the south of England, and will feature some of the familiar places seen in Alex, such as the quaint country village of Meadling, and the polluted soul of some of Vulnham City’s seediest streets. I’m following the same formula in terms of writing length and style, keeping chapters short and the pace fast. Much research has taken place – probably too much again! – to ensure characters not only ring true to the reader, but have heartbeats that tremor through the pages.

And hopefully – fingers, toes and eyes crossed – this will make for a good read!

Release date is still of course not known, but when I get to the point where I can visualize a potential one, I’ll be sure to let you all know.

Until then, take care of yourselves, and keep writing and reading.

Have you read ALEX, the Kindle Number One Best Selling Thrillers & Suspense novel? It’s available on Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com, and Prime Members can get it for free. Click on a cover below to get your copy!

Alex Sidney Knight Amazon UK            Alex Sidney Knight Amazon US

Leave a Reply

